Small Press at 2020 SD Comic Fest

San Diego Comic Fest, March 2020

San Diego Comic Fest returns on Thursday, April 21st, 2022, with an opening evening reception for 3-day passholders, and runs through Sunday, April 24th. The convention will be held at the Sheraton in Kearny Mesa where it last landed in March of 2020. With guest of honor Peter David among a large group of amazing guests, this year’s return of the Fest is one to celebrate.

Tickets are available in advance at Brown Paper Tickets. See below and visit the San Diego Comic Fest web site for more details!

From the San Diego Comic Fest:

The Ninth Annual San Diego Comic Fest, the friendly comic book convention with a casual atmosphere and an intimate scale, will be April 21-24, 2022, at the Sheraton Four Points Hotel on Aero Drive. This year will celebrate the Centennial of Star Trek creator Gene Roddenberry. San Diego Comic Fest has sometimes been called “Comic-Con Unplugged.” It offers all the things that make comic book conventions unique, emphasizing comics, science fiction, movies animation, and artwork, but without lines or crowding. Tickets are available in advance online and at the door during event registration hours.

Guest of Honor, Peter David, is a prolific author whose career, and continued popularity, spans nearly three decades. He has worked in every conceivable media: Television, film, books (fiction, non-fiction and audio), short stories, and comic books, and acquired followings in all of them. Some of his most notable works include the Star Trek: New Frontier Novels, The Incredible Hulk, Young Justice, Spider-Man 2099, Aquaman and Supergirl.

Science Fiction Guest of Honor Gregory Benford is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, winner of the Lord Prize in science, and the UN Medal in Literature. His fiction and nonfiction have won many awards; he has published 32 novels, over 200 short stories and several hundred scientific papers in several fields. His most recently-published works include Bowl of Heaven and Shipstar with Larry Niven, Mammoth Dawn with Kevin J. Anderson, The Best of Gregory Benford, and The Berlin Project.

Panel for “Stories from the Early Comic-Con Years” 2020

Comic Fest History

San Diego Comic Fest’s origins date to the first comic convention held in San Diego back in 1969. Teenage San Diego comic dealer Mike Towry was among the handful of fans who founded what became known as San Diego Comic-Con. As fans reminisced about the “old-school” cons during the 40th Comic-Con in 2009, he and other Con veterans agreed that San Diego needed a second convention – one with an atmosphere like the early years. Thus, San Diego Comic Fest was born. In 2021, Mike passed the torch to Little Fish Comic Book Studio Executive Director Alonso Nunez who now serves as the new President of Comic Fest.

2022 Guests

Among the confirmed Special Comic Fest guests and program highlights are:

  • Jean Graham: Co-Fan Guest of Honor, Founder of S.T.A.R. San Diego, Committee Member of
    Westercon, Starcon, San Diego Comic-Con and ConDor.
  • Pearl Stickler: Co-Fan Guest of Honor, President of California Association for the
    Advancement of Speculative Media, Chairperson of ConDor.
  • Ralph Mathieu: Dealer Guest of Honor, Founder of Alternate Reality Comics Las Vegas,
    Diamond Comic Board of Directors.
  • Ben Templesmith: Eisner Award-winning artist of 30 Days of Night, Fell, Wormwood:
    Gentleman Corpse, Dead Space, Groom Lake and Singularity 7.
  • Tom Ruegger: Fourteen-time Emmy Award-winning creator, producer, writer and showrunner
    of Animaniacs, Pinky & the Brain, Tiny Toon Adventures and Freakazoid.
  • Dustin Nguyen: Eisner Award-winning artist of Descender, The Authority, Detective Comics,Batman: Lil Gotham, Batman: Streets of Gotham, and Robin & Batman.
  • Scott Shaw!: Cartoonist and Animator of Sonic The Hedgehog, The Flintstones, Camp Candy,Captain Carrot, Muppet Babies and the World Famous Oddball Comics Show.
  • Joe Phillips: Inkpot Award-winning artist of Mister Miracle, The Incredible Hulk, Wonder Woman, Fleer Ultra: X-Men and Marvel Masterpieces.
  • William Stout: Multi-talented artist and designer of Jurassic Park, Conan the Barbarian, Pan’s Labyrinth, Masters of the Universe and The Myst.
  • Jim Krueger: Eisner Award-winning Writer of the Earth X Trilogy, Justice, Project
    Superpowers, Footsoldiers and Marvels X.
  • Michael Dooley: Designer, author, instructor, photographer, and contributing editor to Print, the graphic design magazine.
  • Rob Salkowitz: Writer on pop culture for Forbes, ICv2, communications educator, and author of Comic-Con and the Business of Pop Culture.
  • Chris Ryall: Publisher of Syzygy Publishing, Writer and Editor of Locke & Key, ROM, Onyx, Groom Lake and Zombies vs. Robots.
  • Jackie Estrada: She runs the Eisner Awards, started Comic-Con’s Artists Alley, and is the editor and co-publisher of Exhibit A Press.
  • Ricardo Delgado: Eisner Award-winning creator of Age of Reptiles, Storyboard artist of Avatar: The Last Airbender, The Incredibles and How to Train Your Dragon.
  • Buzz Dixon: Writer of Animation Classics such as G.I. Joe, Transformers, Thundarr The Barbarian, Batman: The Animated Series and Tiny Toon Adventures.
  • Jonathan Maberry: NY Times Bestseller, 5-time Bram Stoker Award winner, creator of V-Wars, the Joe Ledger thrillers, the Rot & Ruin series, and the Dead of Night series.
  • Willie Ito: Animator for Disney (spaghetti-kissing scene in Lady and the Tramp), The Beany and Cecil Show, The Jetsons, The Flintstones and the Yogi Bear Show.

The link to the full guestlist can be found here.


Full-Weekend and One-Day tickets will be available for advance purchase online and sold at the door during registration hours. Full-Weekend passes, including the Thursday night reception on April 21st, are only available in advance online. Discounts for active military families and students are available. Children under age 12 are free if accompanied by a ticket holder. To buy tickets online, go to Brown Paper Tickets.

Will you be attending SD Comic Fest in April? Leave a comment below!